Alphabetical List of Research Databases

Overwhelmed by all these databases? Not sure which one to use or how to use it? Try starting with Finding Journals & Articles. You can also Ask a Librarian for help.

Use "tabless version" of page.

A

  • Abstracts in Anthropology: Covers a broad spectrum of significant, current anthropological topics from a vast number of periodicals, providing a thorough coverage of anthropological scholarship in all its subfields, cultural anthropology, physical anthropology, archaeology and linguistics.
  • Academic Search Complete (1984-): Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study. Video Help
  • Accessible Archives (1728-1870-): Provides the full text of articles from more than a dozen American newspapers and magazines from the 18th-19th centuries.
  • ACM Digital Library (1947-): Full text of journal and conference papers from the Association for Computing Machinery.
  • ACS Publications (American Chemical Society) (1879-): Archive of pre-1996 journals from the American Chemical Society.
  • AGRICOLA (1970-): Consists of over 2.5 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports and encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
  • Alt-Health Watch (1978-): Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
  • America: History and Life: Index to articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada.
  • American & English Literature: Full text of books and other sources originally published in print. Also includes 21 historic editions of the Bible in English.
  • American National Biography (2000-): Biographical dictionary of about 17,500 notable Americanmen and women from all eras of American history who are no longer alive.
  • American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900): Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • America's Historical Newspapers: Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 present states.
  • America's Newspapers: Newsbank: Online full-text for the Columbus Dispatch, the Cleveland Plain Dealer, the Toledo Blade, and the Dayton Daily News (as well as archives of the Cincinnati Post).
  • Annual Bibliography of English Language & Literature (1920-1997): Index to books, articles, reviews, collections, and dissertations in English studies.
  • Anthropology Plus (late 1800's-): Index to articles and reports in anthropology and archaeology.
  • AP Multimedia Archive: Contains approximately 500,000 photos and selections of pictures from the AP image and print negative library. Pictures cover local, state, national and international subjects. Updated daily.
  • Art Full Text (1929-): Index and abstracts for articles in art.
  • Artbibliographies Modern (1974-): Provides abstracts of the current literature of modern art, photography, and design. Updated semi-annually.
  • ArticleFirst (1990-): Index to articles from over 12,000 journals.
  • Arts and Humanities Citation Index (1980-): Index and cited references for articles in the arts and humanities.
  • ARTstor (2003?-): Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women's studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download and organize images.
  • ASCE Research Library (American Society of Civil Engineers) (1995-): Provides access to over 18,000 papers from ASCE journals and proceedings. Updated monthly. (Subscription does not include access to full text of Proceedings.)
  • ATLA Religion Database (1949-): Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
  • Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1977-): Index to articles in architecture and design.

B-C

  • Beethoven Bibliography Database: Indexes biographical and critical information, scores, letters, and other important documents of and about Ludwig van Beethoven. Items indexed include books, articles from scholarly and music journals, dissertations and theses, newspaper articles and reviews, and encyclopedia articles.
  • Bibliography of American Literature: Included within American & English Literature (10/08)
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans (16th century-): Contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada and covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
  • Bibliography of the History of Art (1973-): Includes RILA (International repertory of the literature of art) from 1975 to 1989. Index to articles, books, and other materials in art history, covering European and American art from late antiquity to the present.
  • Biography and Genealogy Master Index: Indexes more than 11 million biographical sketches in over 3,000 volumes and editions of current and retrospective reference books, covering both contemporary and historical figures throughout the world.
  • Biological Abstracts (1980-): Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research. BIOSIS Previews also covers books and meetings.
  • Book Review Index (1965-): A comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications. Updated monthly.
  • Books in Print: An index of books, audios, and videos available from U.S. publishers. Also includes 165,000 records on publishers, distributors, wholesalers, and book agents, information on award winners and bestsellers, over 500,000 full-text reviews, and inventory data from 19 well-known wholesalers.
  • Business Source Complete (1886- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
  • Chemical Abstracts (1947-present): available as part of SciFinder Scholar - Accessible from anywhere on campus once you are registered. For registration assistance, ask at the Reference Desk or the Chemistry Department. Note that only one user at a time can access SciFinder.
  • Chicano Database (1967-): Index to resources on Mexican-American and Latino topics.
  • China Online Journals (2005-): Comprehensive full-text database of Chinese online journals in all subjects.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937-): Index, abstracts and full-text access to the literature of nursing and allied health.
  • CIS History Universe: Access to African American Studies: Full text of primary and secondary African-American studies sources from 1792-present.
  • ClasePeriodica: Indexes articles, essays, book reviews, reports, proceedings, etc., published in Latin American journals and other publications that focus on that region. Covers the humanities, social sciences, sciences. Most articles indexed are written in Spanish. Updated quarterly.
  • Cleveland News Index: Produced by the Cleveland Public Library, indexes local news stories, feature articles and selected reviews from: the Plain Dealer, Cleveland Magazine (1983-), Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990-), and Ohio Magazine (Oct. 1990-). Obituaries from the Plain Dealer and the Cleveland Press are included from 1976 to the present. It consists of two parts, a news section and personal name section. Routine sports events are not indexed.
  • Cleveland Orchestra Program Notes Index (1972/73-): Produced by the Cleveland Institute of Music. Continuously updated.
  • Clinical Medicine and Health Research (1999-): Launched in December 1999, this website provides a place for authors to archive the full text of their completed studies - before, during, or after peer review by other agencies. Its scope is original research into clinical medicine and health.
  • Columbia Granger's World of Poetry: Index to English language poetry, with the text of many poems.
  • ComAbstracts (1979-): Abstracts of articles published in 42 of the primary professional journals in the communication field. Updated periodically throughout the year.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete: Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.
  • Compendex (1969-): Index and abstracts to engineering literature from international journals, conferences, and reports.
  • Compendex Historical (1884-1968): Index and abstracts to engineering literature published 1884-1968.
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC): Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1,300 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources in the areas of engineering, computer theory, and new technologies.
  • Computer Source (1965): Index, abstracts, and full text of articles covering the latest information and current trends in high technology.
  • Consumer Health Complete: Information for health care consumers. This database will no longer be available after June 30, 2009. Please use Health Source: Consumer Edition.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues (1992-2006): Index, abstracts, and full-text of women's studies literature from journals, newsletters, and reports. Available but no longer updated after July 1, 2006
  • Crain's Cleveland Business Archives (1994-): Indexes the full text archive of Crain's Cleveland Business. Updated daily.
  • Criminal Justice Abstracts (1968-): Abstracts from over 500 journals as well as dissertations, new books, and reports of public and private agencies provide comprehensive coverage of the field of criminology: crime, offenders, victims, juvenile delinquency, police, courts, correction, crime prevention.

D-F

  • Defining Gender (1450-1910): Five Centuries of Advice Literature Online: A collection of original documents relating to Gender Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
  • Dictionary of Literary Biography: Provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
  • Digital Media Center: Several databases of electronic images or videos; will eventually also include sound, numeric data, and other types of electronic media.
  • Dissertation Abstracts (ProQuest Dissertations & Theses) (1861-): Index to doctoral dissertations and master's theses from North America and Europe.
  • EBSCO Animals: Encyclopedia of Animals.
  • EBSCOhost Research Databases: Menu of databases provided through EBSCO Publishing.
  • ECONLIT: Provides indexing and some abstracts of the literature of economics as found in journals, books, and collective volumes. Topics include economic development, forecasting, and history; fiscal and monetary theory; business and public finance; healthcare, regional and urban economics, and more.
  • Economia y Negocios (early 1980s-): Contains more than 60,000 records, dating back to the early 1980s, providing coverage for over 200 Spanish and Portuguese-language periodicals in the areas of business and economics.
  • Education Full Text (1983- ) Covers contemporary education issues.
  • Education Research Complete: Provides access to full text education journals and also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
  • Educational Directory
  • Electronic Journal Center: Full text of 6000+ research journals.
  • Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (2001-): Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students.
  • Energy Citations Database (1948-): Includes bibliographic records of literature in energy-related disciplines such as chemistry, physics, materials, environmental science, geology, engineering, mathematics, climatology, oceanography, and computer science. It includes citations to report literature, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents. Updated regularly.
  • Engineering Village (1884-): Provides access to bibliographic databases of engineering research literature, including Compendex, as well as to patents, standards and handbooks. Databases include Compendex, Ei patents (U.S. and European patents), GEOBASE, NTIS (National Technical Information Service), and Referex (electronic books)
  • English Short Title Catalogue: Lists over 460,000 items from the collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries published between 1473 and 1800.
  • Environment Complete: Contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 of the most used journals in the discipline, as well as full text for 80 monographs.
  • ERIC (1966-): Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch (1990-): Access to full text of newspapers published by and for minority and native ethnic groups. Includes articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. to provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP (1980-): Index to citations in 1,000 journals with full-text access to almost 900 journals. Covers primarily humanities and social science subject areas at the undergraduate level.
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text : Covers the literature about television and film writing and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books.
  • FIRST (Facts on International Relations and Security Trends): Offers researchers, politicians and the media an authoritative and structured factual reference system on international relations and security trends. It contains high-quality, up-to-date and clearly documented information in areas such as:conflicts, arms transfers and military expenditure, hard facts on states and international organizations, economic and social statistics and
  • FRANCIS (1984-): Index to multilingual, multidisciplinary information in the humanities, social sciences, and economics.
  • Fuente Academica: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.

G-H

  • Gale's Literary Index (provides reference to entries in the Gale literature print volumes. Online access to (Gale's Dictionary of Literary Biography can be found under those titles.)
  • Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index: Provides access to articles about gardens and plants & covers such topics as horticulture; botany; garden and landscape design & history; ecology; plant and garden conservation; garden management; and horticultural therapy.
  • Gender Studies Database (1972-): Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
  • GenderWatch (1970-): Full-text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
  • GeoRef (1978-): Index and abstracts to articles, books, maps, reports, and other literature on geology and geosciences.
  • Gongwer News Service: Providing extensive coverage of Ohio state government and political news and information since 1906.
  • GPO Monthly Catalog (July 1976-): Catalog of U.S. government documents.
  • GreenFILE - A resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment covering content going back more than 35 years. The database includes information for individuals, such as installing solar panels and recycling; for corporations needing information on green agriculture, hybrid cars or waste management; as well as environmental laws, regulations and studies.
  • Grove Music Online (comprises the full text of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, and The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz)
  • Hand Press Book Database: Catalog of European printing of the hand-press period.
  • Hapi Online (1970-): The searchable Web version of the Hispanic American Periodicals Index. Hapi Online contains complete bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 400 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
  • HarpWeek: the Civil War Era and Reconstruction I (1857-1871): Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
  • Health and Psychosocial Instruments (1985- ): Articles on measurement tests in health, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition (1984-): Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (1975-): Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
  • Hein Online: Image-based collection of nearly 400 legal periodicals from inception (pre-1980 coverage unique to this service); includes charts, graphs, and photographs. Can search US Law Journal Library, most cited law journals, core U.S. law journals, and international law journals.
  • Historic PsycINFO 1887-1966 : Abstracts and citations to historical scholarly literature in psychology, early 1800s to 1966.
  • Historical Abstracts (1960-): Index and abstracts to articles covering world history from 1450 to present (excluding U.S. and Canada).
  • Historical Statistics of the United States: The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history
  • History of Science, Technology and Medicine (1976-): Index to journal articles, books, proceedings, and other literature in the history of science, technology and medicine, and allied historical fields.
  • Hoover's Online (1996-): Delivers information about company, industry, and market intelligence that drives business growth. The database of 12 million companies, with in-depth coverage of 40,000 of the world's top business enterprises.
  • Humanities International Complete: A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world and including all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index.

I

  • IBISWorld (1991-): Provides business reports in industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.
  • ICPSR Online: Provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
  • IEEE Xplore (1950-): Index to the full text of IEEE publications. Subscription does not include access to IEEE Conference Proceedings.
  • images.MD: compiles over 50,000 high-quality images spanning all of internal medicine.
  • Index of Articles on Jewish Studies (RAMBI) (1938-): A selective bibliography of scholarly articles in Jewish studies and the land of Israel, 1938 to the present. No abstracts or full text.
  • Index to Current Urban Documents: A fully searchable index with full text documents from local government and local government-related publications in PDF format.
  • Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (1840-1907): Index to articles from 42 art journals published in 19th century U.S.
  • Infotrac (1980- some full text): Now called Expanded Academic ASAP.
  • IngentaConnect : Ingenta is the world's largest website for the search and delivery of research articles, offering access to article summaries from over 20,000 publications linked to the full text of over 4,500 titles. You can browse publications by title, subject area, or online publisher, or search articles by title, author, or keyword.
  • INSPEC (1969-): Index and abstracts to articles, proceedings, books, and reports in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, information technology, production, and manufacturing and mechanical engineering.
  • Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) Citation Databases: (1980-): Indexes over 8,000 scholarly journals in three multidisciplinary databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Indexes may be searched separately or together. Updated weekly.
  • Insurance Periodicals Index (1965-) Indexes and abstracts over 200 of the most respected and widely-read insurance industry journals and magazines.
  • International Abstracts of Human Resources (1995-): A guide to the literature of management, human resources, and personnel. Abstracts articles from more than 50 journals, organized into 80 different categories.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (1984-): Index, abstracts and full text for publications on all aspects of theatre and performance.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals (1998-): Indexes more than 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals.
  • International Political Science Abstracts (1989-): Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1989 to present.
  • International Who's Who (2005-): Also known as World Who's Who, this resource contains current and hard-to-find biographical information on almost 60,000 of the most gifted, famous and influential men and women in all fields
  • ISI Web of Science (1980-): Indexes over 8,000 scholarly journals in three multidisciplinary databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Indexes may be searched separately or together. Updated weekly.
  • Issues & Controversies (Facts on File) (1995-): Presents and enhances the full back file of Issues & Controversies On File, which has probed more than 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
  • Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance: Bibliography of approximately 230,000 articles and reviews drawn from over 400 medieval and renaissance journal titles and 44,000 records encompassing monographs, material published in monographs, and collected essays pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Updated daily.

J-M

  • JSTOR (1838-): Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
  • LearningExpressLibrary - Offers practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, and information for at school, at work, or in life objectives and an entire Learning Center dedicated to job hunting. Users must first create an account onsite.
  • Legal Collection: Offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's best law journals and covers legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics and the environment.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic: Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information.
  • Lexis-Nexis Statistical (1973-): Statistical information from government and other sources; index and abstracts for statistical reports from the U.S. federal government.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text: contains all of the content available in LGBT Life and full text for significant LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers as well as monographs.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (1967-): Index and abstracts to publications in library and information science and technology.
  • Literary Reference Center: A completely full-text literary reference database that provides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
  • Marquis Who's Who (Online) (1985-): Includes professional and personal profiles of key U.S. and international figures. Combines every biography on nearly 850,000 people included in eighteen print volumes since 1985. Also includes the specialized biographical databases: Who's Who in American History and Who's Who in American Art.
  • MAS Ultra: School Edition (For high school students)(1984-): Index, abstracts, and full text for popular high school magazines.
  • MasterFILE Premier (1975-): Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
  • MathSciNet (1940-): Index and summaries of articles and books on mathematical research.
  • MedicLatina: Provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
  • MEDLINE with Full Text (1950-): Includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database.
  • Mental Measurements Yearbook : A guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments covering such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
  • Mergentonline (2003-): Covers 10,000 public companies and their SEC filings. Includes U.S. and international annual reports.
  • Middle Search Plus for middle school students(1984-): Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines.
  • MLA Directory of Periodicals: List of periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore that are covered regularly in the MLA International Bibliography.
  • MLA International Bibliography: Index to articles, books, and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
  • Music Index (1979-): Provides subject and author indexing to music periodical literature. Covers over 500 journals.

N-P

  • NLM Gateway (2000-): Web site offering opportunities to search a number of databases maintained by the National Library of Medicine
  • NARIC's REHABDATA Literature Database (1956-): Spans almost 50 years of disability and rehabilitation research. More than 65,000 abstracts are available.
  • Natural & Alternative Treatments: Contains evidence-based information on herbs and natural remedies and the conditions they may be used to treat, as well as known or suspected drug interactions.
  • Naxos Music Library: Classical music, jazz, contemporary, world, and folk music in a comprehensive database. Over 85,000 selections plus accompanying notes and biographical information on composers and artists.
  • netLibrary : Current electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects.
  • New York Times (1986- ): Covers U.S. and international affairs as well as in-depth coverage of New York City developments. Includes the New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine. Online version updated daily.
  • New York Times (Historic) (1857-2005): Contains the full text of the New York Times from 1857 to 2005. Covers U.S. and international affairs as well as in-depth coverage of New York City developments. Includes the New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine.
  • Newspaper Source (1995-): Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
  • OACIS for the Middle East: A continuously updated union list of journals and serials on or about the Middle East, including those available in print, microform, and online.
  • OECD Health Data Online: Statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries
  • OT Search (ask at Reference Desk for password): Provides citations and some abstracts to the literature of occupational therapy and related subject areas such as rehabilitation, education, psychiatry or psychology, and health care delivery or administration. Updated continuously.
  • Oxford Dictionary of National Biography - More than 56,600 biographies of the men and women from around the world who shaped all aspects of Britain's past.
  • PAIS (1972-): Index and abstracts of articles, books, government documents, and other literature on public affairs.
  • PapersFirst: Index of papers presented at conferences.
  • Past Masters: A full text, searchable database of complete editions or selections from classics in philosophy, political science, and economics.
  • Philosopher's Index (1940-): Provides citations and abstracts from books and over 270 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and the western world.
  • Physical Education Index (1970-): Provides citations and abstracts from over 310 sources, including peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. Updated monthly.
  • Population Index on the Web (1986-2000): Abstracts of demographic literature.
  • Primary Search for primary school students (1984-): Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines.
  • ProceedingsFirst: Index of conference proceedings.
  • Professional Development Collection (1975-): Index, abstracts, and full text for professional educators.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (1961-): Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • PsycINFO (1967-): Index and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology.
  • PsycINFO Historic 1887-1966 - Abstracts and citations to historical scholarly literature in psychology, early 1800s to 1966.
  • Public Administration Abstracts - Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to public administration, including public administration research, public administration theory, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.
  • PubMed (1950s-): A service of the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health, it provides access to over 16 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
  • PubMed Central: An Archive of Life Science Journals : PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's online archive of life sciences journal literature. There is free access to available journals which are listed on the first screen.

R-S

  • ReferenceUSA - Provides real-time access to directory information for 10.5 million businesses. Locate every business in the U.S. by company name, location, or type of business. In addition to contact information, ReferenceUSA provides full corporate affiliation linkage, multiple contact names, FAX and toll free numbers, single point mapping, and credit ratings.
  • Regional Business News latest 30 days: A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection (1974-): Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • RIA Checkpoint (199?-): Contains both current and archival tax research materials, including a complete library of federal, state, local and international tax materials, RIA's analysis, daily updates of cases and rulings, WG&L treatises and journals and Tax Analysts' TaxBase.
  • RILM (1969-): Index and abstracts of articles, books, dissertations, conferences, and other literature on music.
  • RLG Union Catalog (RLIN): Incorporated into WorldCat 9/2007.
  • Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (1992-): Index and abstracts in Slavic studies, covering articles, books, and other literature on social sciences and humanities.
  • Safari Tech Books Online: Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields.
  • Science Citation Index (1980-): Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the sciences.
  • Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database (1878-): Provides over 50,000 citations to historical articles, criticism, commentary, fan writings and some reviews relating to science fiction, fantasy, horror, supernatural and weird fiction.
  • Science Online (Facts on File) (2004-): Database containing thousands of diagrams, definitions, biographies, essays, and experiments covering the sciences.
  • SciFinder Scholar - Accessible from anywhere on campus once you are registered. For registration assistance, ask at the Reference Desk or the Chemistry Department. Note that only one user at a time can access SciFinder.
  • SCIPIO: Art and Rare Books Sales Catalogs : Digitized letters and photographs from the Scripps archive at Ohio University.
  • Scitation -mechanical and civil engineering and physics (1957-): Provides citations to conference proceedings, standards, online portals, nearly 600,000 journal articles, and more.
  • Searchable Abstracts of ACI Publications (American Concrete Institute) (1929-): Index to articles published in ACI journals, technical documents, and proceedings.
  • Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students): Graphical interface for elementary and middle school students.
  • SIRS Researcher (1989-): General full text covering social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
  • Social Sciences Citation Index (1980-): Index, abstracts, and cited references for articles in the social sciences.
  • Social Sciences Full Text (1983-): Covers over 500 English-language periodicals in the Social Sciences. Full text of 163 periodicals available from 1995 to present. Updated monthly.
  • Social Work Abstracts (1977- ): Provides indexing with abstracts to more than 35,000 records to social work and other related journals on such topics as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, and community organization.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text (1901- ): Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology.
  • Sociological Collection (1965- ): Comprehensive database with nearly 580 full text titles providing information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
  • SourceOECD - OECD health data (1991-): Statistics on health and health systems across OECD countries.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text (1800-): A comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, coaching and training and featuring more than 240 full text titles.
  • Standard & Poor's Net Advantage (1999-): A comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to popular Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, Mutual Fund Reports among others.

T-V

  • Teacher Reference Center : A bibliographic index of more than 260 titles from teacher and administration trade journals, periodicals, and books providing coverage on topics such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education, and more.
  • Tests in Print : A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language.
  • THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet: provides several options for finding bills, resolutions, and legislative histories from 1973 to the present and is also the source for presidential nominations, treaties, committee reports, legislative resources.
  • Today's Science (1990s-): Full-text coverage of the publication, Today's Science, from 1992 to the present, with accessible information on breaking news in science, health, and technology. Includes biographies, glossaries, graphics, and overview articles
  • TOPICsearch: Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
  • TRIS Online (1972-): From the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
  • Ulrich's International Periodicals Directory : Provides coverage of over 150,000 periodicals and over 70,000 serials. Publication information includes date publication began, frequency of publication, price, address, phone, e-mail and URL addresses, circulation, advertising rates, and where the title is indexed and available from document delivery services. Names and addresses of many serial publishers and distributors also available.
  • Urban Studies Abstracts: Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research.
  • ValueLine (1998-): Provides investment research on stocks, mutual funds, otions and convertibles.
  • Vente et Gestion: Provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher.
  • Viva Database (1995-): Provides a listing of articles about women's and gender history selected from more than 90 European and American journals. Many of the articles are not in English. Updated bimonthly.
  • Vocational and Career Collection (1985-):Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.

W

  • Wall Street Journal (1984-): Contains full text articles from the Wall Street Journal from January 2, 1984 through today's issue. Browse issues, or search for terms in citation, abstract, or article text.
  • Water Resources Abstracts (1967- ): Covers water resources as treated in the life, physical and social sciences including characteristics, supply condition, conservation, control, use, or management.
  • Web of Science (1980-): Indexes over 8,000 scholarly journals in three multidisciplinary databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Indexes may be searched separately or together. Updated weekly.
  • WG&L Financial Reporting & Management (199?-): Provides financial compliance information services to financial professionals in both public and private corporations covering controllership, financial management, GAAP compliance, internal auditing, SEC compliance, corporate finance weekly update, AICPA, FASB, GASB, PCAOB, and SEC reference library.
  • Women's Studies International (1972-): Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
  • Women Writers Online (1400-1850): Searchable database of American and English full text writings by women from 1400-1850.
  • World News Digest (1940-): Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts on File world news digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940
  • WorldCat : Catalog of books and other materials held by libraries worldwide.
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-2006): Index and abstracts to journal articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Available but no longer updated after July 1, 2006.
engaged learning

Michael Schwartz Library
Cleveland State University
We bring people & information together.
(216) 687-5300
Rhodes Tower
2121 Euclid Avenue
Cleveland, Ohio 44115-2214



This site contains files that require the free Adobe Reader to view.