Research Databases with Full Text

  • Academic Search Complete (1984-): Index, abstracts, and full text for many scholarly publications covering all academic areas of study. Video Help
  • Accessible Archives (1728-1870-): Provides the full text of articles from more than a dozen American newspapers and magazines from the 18th-19th centuries.
  • ACM Digital Library (1947-): Full text of journal and conference papers from the Association for Computing Machinery.
  • AGRICOLA (1970-): Consists of over 2.5 million citations to journal articles, monographs, theses, patents, software, audio-visual materials, and technical reports and encompasses all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines.
  • Alt-Health Watch (1978-): Index, abstracts, and full text covering complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
  • American Periodicals Series Online (1740-1900): Digitized images of the pages of over 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers.
  • America's Historical Newspapers: Early American newspapers published between 1690 and 1922, including titles from all 50 present states.
  • Amercia's Newspapers: Newsbank: Online full-text newspapers, including 17 Ohio newspapers.
  • Anthropology Plus (late 1800's- some full text): Index to articles and reports in anthropology and archaeology.
  • AP Multimedia Archive: Contains approximately 500,000 photos and selections of pictures from the AP image and print negative library. Pictures cover local, state, national and international subjects. Updated daily.
  • Art Full Text (1929-): Index, abstracts and full text for articles in art.
  • ATLA Religion Database (1949- some full text): Index to articles, book reviews, and essays in religion and theology.
  • Bibliography of Native North Americans (16th century-): Contains more than 80,000 citations for books, essays, journal articles, and government documents of the United States and Canada and covers all aspects of native North American culture, history, and life.
  • Biological Abstracts (1980- some full text): Index and abstracts to international journal articles in biological and medical research. BIOSIS Previews also covers books and meetings.
  • Book Review Index (1965- some full text): A comprehensive guide to book reviews that includes more than 5 million review citations from thousands of publications. Updated monthly.
  • Business Source Complete (1886- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text covering scholarly business journals on management, economics, finance, accounting, international business and much more.
  • China Online Journals (2005-): Comprehensive full-text database of Chinese online journals in all subjects.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text (1937-): Index, abstracts and full-text access to the literature of nursing and allied health.
  • CIS History Universe: Access to African American Studies: Full text of primary and secondary African-American studies sources from 1792-present.
  • Clinical Medicine and Health Research (1999-): Launched in December 1999, this website provides a place for authors to archive the full text of their completed studies - before, during, or after peer review by other agencies. Its scope is original research into clinical medicine and health.
  • Communication and Mass Media Complete (some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text for journals in communication and mass media.
  • Compendex (1969- some full text: Index and abstracts to engineering literature from international journals, conferences, and reports.
  • Compendex Historical (1884-1968): Index and abstracts to engineering literature published 1884-1968.
  • Computers & Applied Sciences Complete (CASC): Provides indexing and abstracting for more than 1,300 academic journals, professional publications, and other reference sources in the areas of engineering, computer theory, and new technologies.
  • Computer Source (1965- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text of articles covering the latest information and current trends in high technology.
  • Consumer Health Complete: Information for health care consumers. This database will no longer be available after June 30, 2009. Please use Health Source: Consumer Edition.
  • Contemporary Women's Issues (1992- 2006): Index, abstracts, and full-text of women's studies literature from journals, newsletters, and reports. Available but no longer updated after July 1, 2006.
  • Crain's Cleveland Business Archives (1994-): Indexes the full text archive of Crain's Cleveland Business. Updated daily.
  • Defining Gender (1450-1910): Five Centuries of Advice Literature Online: A collection of original documents relating to Gender Studies, sourced from libraries and archives around the world.
  • Digital Media Center: Several databases of electronic images or videos; will eventually also include sound, numeric data, and other types of electronic media.
  • EBSCO Animals: Encyclopedia of Animals.
  • EBSCOhost Research Databases: Menu of databases provided through EBSCO Publishing.
  • Education Full Text (1983- ) Covers contemporary education issues.
  • Education Research Complete: Provides access to full text education journals and also covers areas of curriculum instruction as well as administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
  • Electronic Journal Center: Full text of 6000+ research journals.
  • Electronic Theses and Dissertations Center (2001-): Online theses and dissertations from Ohio graduate students.
  • Environment Complete: Contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 of the most used journals in the discipline, as well as full text for 80 monographs.
  • ERIC (1966- some full text): Educational Resources Information Center. Index and abstracts of articles, books, and documents covering education research and practice.
  • Ethnic NewsWatch (1990-): Access to full text of newspapers published by and for minority and native ethnic groups. Includes articles, editorials, columns, reviews, etc. to provide a broad diversity of perspectives and viewpoints.
  • Expanded Academic ASAP (1980- some full text): Index to citations in 1,000 journals with full-text access to almost 900 journals. Covers primarily humanities and social science subject areas at the undergraduate level.
  • Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text - Covers the literature about television and film writing and provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 270 publications (and selected coverage of more than 300), as well as full text for more than 70 journals and nearly 50 books.
  • Fuente Academica: This multi-disciplinary database provides full text for 260 scholarly Spanish language journals.
  • Garden, Landscape, and Horticulture Index: Provides access to articles about gardens and plants & covers such topics as horticulture; botany; garden and landscape design & history; ecology; plant and garden conservation; garden management; and horticultural therapy.
  • Gender Studies Database (1972-): Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
  • GenderWatch (1970-): Full-text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues.
  • GeoRef (1978- some full text): Index and abstracts to articles, books, maps, reports, and other literature on geology and geosciences.
  • GreenFILE - A resource designed to help individuals and organizations interested in reducing the negative impact and increasing the positive impact they have on the environment covering content going back more than 35 years. The database includes information for individuals, such as installing solar panels and recycling; for corporations needing information on green agriculture, hybrid cars or waste management; as well as environmental laws, regulations and studies.
  • Gongwer News Service: Providing extensive coverage of Ohio state government and political news and information since 1906.
  • HarpWeek: the Civil War Era and Reconstruction I (1857-1871): Page images and indexes to Harper's Weekly, covering the Civil War and Reconstruction periods.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition (1984- some full text): Information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health.
  • Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition (1975- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text focusing on many medical disciplines, particularly nursing and allied health.
  • Hein Online: Image-based collection of nearly 400 legal periodicals from inception (pre-1980 coverage unique to this service); includes charts, graphs, and photographs. Can search US Law Journal Library, most cited law journals, core U.S. law journals, and international law journals.
  • Humanities International Complete: A comprehensive database of humanities content, providing full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world and including all data from American Humanities Index and Humanities International Index.
  • IEEE Xplore (1950- some full text): Index to the full text of IEEE publications. Subscription does not include access to IEEE Proceedings.
  • Index to Current Urban Documents: A fully searchable index with full text documents from local government and local government-related publications in PDF format.
  • IngentaConnect (some full text): Ingenta is the world's largest website for the search and delivery of research articles, offering access to article summaries from over 20,000 publications linked to the full text of over 4,500 titles. You can browse publications by title, subject area, or online publisher, or search articles by title, author, or keyword.
  • INSPEC (1969- some full text): Index and abstracts to articles, proceedings, books, and reports in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, communications, control engineering, computers and computing, information technology, production, and manufacturing and mechanical engineering.
  • Institute for Scientific Information Citation Databases (1980- some full text): Indexes over 8,000 scholarly journals in three multidisciplinary databases: Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Science Citation Index and Social Sciences Citation Index. Indexes may be searched separately or together. Updated weekly.
  • Insurance Periodicals Index (1965-) Indexes and abstracts over 200 of the most respected and widely-read insurance industry journals and magazines.
  • International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text (1984-): Index, abstracts and full text for publications on all aspects of theatre and performance.
  • International Index to Black Periodicals (1998- some full text): Indexes more than 150 international scholarly and popular periodicals in Black Studies and contains full-text coverage of 40 core Black Studies periodicals.
  • International Political Science Abstracts (1989- some full text): Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science from 1989 to present.
  • Issues & Controversies (Facts on File) (1995- some full text): Presents and enhances the full back file of Issues & Controversies On File, which has probed more than 600 controversial topics in the news since its debut in September 1995. Chronologies, illustrations, maps, tables, sidebars, bibliographies, and contact information augment the balanced, accurate coverage of current and historical events.
  • JSTOR (1838-): Provides full text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in history, economics, political science, demography, mathematics, and other fields of the humanities and social sciences.
  • Legal Collection: Offers full text for nearly 250 of the world's best law journals and covers legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics and the environment.
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic: Full text news, business, legal, medical, and reference information.
  • Lexis-Nexis Statistical (1973-): Statistical information from government and other sources; index and abstracts for statistical reports from the U.S. federal government.
  • LGBT Life with Full Text: contains all of the content available in LGBT Life and full text for significant LGBT journals, magazines, regional newspapers as well as monographs.
  • Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) (1967-): Index and abstracts to publications in library and information science and technology.
  • Literary Reference Center: A completely full-text literary reference database that provides a broad spectrum of reference information from antiquity to the present day.
  • Natural & Alternative Treatments: Contains evidence-based information on herbs and natural remedies and the conditions they may be used to treat, as well as known or suspected drug interactions.
  • MAS Ultra: School Edition (For high school students) (1984- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text for popular high school magazines.
  • MasterFILE Premier (1975- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text covering nearly all subjects including general reference, business, health, and much more. Designed for a general (as opposed to academic) audience.
  • MathSciNet (1940-): Index and summaries of articles and books on mathematical research.
  • MedicLatina: Provides access to full text for nearly 100 peer-reviewed medical journals in native Spanish.
  • MEDLINE with Full Text (1950-): Includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database.
  • Middle Search Plus for middle school students(1984-): Index, abstracts, and full text for popular middle school magazines.
  • MLA International Bibliography (some full text): Index to articles, books, and dissertations on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.
  • netLibrary : Current electronic books (e-books) on many academic subjects.
  • New York Times (1986- ): Covers U.S. and international affairs as well as in-depth coverage of New York City developments. Includes the New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine. Online version updated daily.
  • New York Times (Historic) (1857-2005 some full text): Contains the full text of the New York Times from 1857 to 2005. Covers U.S. and international affairs as well as in-depth coverage of New York City developments. Includes the New York Times Book Review and New York Times Magazine.
  • Newspaper Source (1995-): Full text for regional U.S. newspapers, international newspapers, newswires, and newspaper columns.
  • PAIS (1972- some full text): Index and abstracts of articles, books, government documents, and other literature on public affairs.
  • Primary Search for primary school students (1984- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text for popular elementary school magazines.
  • Professional Development Collection (1975- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text for professional educators.
  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (1961- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text covering topics such as emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
  • PsycINFO (1967- some full text): Index and abstracts of articles, books, chapters, dissertations, and reports in psychology.
  • PubMed Central: An Archive of Life Science Journals (some full text): PubMed Central (PMC) is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's online archive of life sciences journal literature. There is free access to available journals which are listed on the first screen
  • Regional Business News latest 30 days: A full text newswire database that incorporates business wires from all over the world.
  • Religion and Philosophy Collection (1974-): Index, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
  • Safari Tech Books Online: Electronic books in computer science, information technology, and related fields.
  • Searchasaurus (for elementary and middle school students): Graphical interface for elementary and middle school students.
  • SIRS Researcher (1989-): General full text covering social, scientific, health, historic, business, economic, political and global issues.
  • Social Sciences Full Text (1983- some full text: Covers over 500 English-language periodicals in the Social Sciences. Full text of 163 periodicals available from 1995 to present. Updated monthly.
  • SocINDEX with Full Text (1901- ): Index, abstracts, and full text for publications in sociology.
  • Sociological Collection (1965- some full text): Comprehensive database with nearly 580 full text titles providing information on all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
  • SPORTDiscus with Full Text (1800-): A comprehensive, bibliographic and full-text database covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, sports science, physical education, coaching and training and featuring more than 240 full text titles.
  • Today's Science (1990s-): Full-text coverage of the publication, Today's Science, from 1992 to the present, with accessible information on breaking news in science, health, and technology. Includes biographies, glossaries, graphics, and overview articles
  • Teacher Reference Center - A bibliographic index of more than 260 titles from teacher and administration trade journals, periodicals, and books providing coverage on topics such as assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science and mathematics, teacher education, and more.
  • THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet: provides several options for finding bills, resolutions, and legislative histories from 1973 to the present and is also the source for presidential nominations, treaties, committee reports, legislative resources.
  • TOPICsearch: Full text covering social, political and economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms.
  • TRIS Online (1972- some full text): From the U.S. Bureau of Transportation Statistics.
  • Vente et Gestion: Provides full text coverage for French language business journals serving both the academic and the professional researcher.
  • Vocational and Career Collection (1985- some full text): Index, abstracts, and full text for 350 trade and industry related periodicals.
  • Water Resources Abstracts (1967- ): Covers water resources as treated in the life, physical and social sciences including characteristics, supply condition, conservation, control, use, or management.
  • Women Writers Online (1400-1850): Searchable database of American and English full text writings by women from 1400-1850.
  • Women's Studies International (1972-): Covers the core disciplines in Women’s Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
  • World News Digest (1940-): Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts on File world news digest in print. This archival record of domestic and international news covers all major political, social, and economic events since November 1940
  • Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (1975-2006 some full text): Index and abstracts to journal articles in political science, international relations, law, and public administration / policy. Available but no longer updated after July 1, 2006.